Brian A. Young Appointed Chair of Baylor University’s Department of Physical Therapy

April 8, 2024
Baylor Physical Therapy Chair Brian Young

Baylor University’s Robbins College of Health and Human Sciences is pleased to announce the appointment of Brian A. Young, PT, DSc, as Chair of the Department of Physical Therapy, effective May 1, 2024.

Young has served as Interim Chair for the Department since 2022 and on faculty as Clinical Associate Professor since 2017. He has held several leadership roles, including Assistant Program Director, Graduate Program Director, and Director of Curriculum. Young previously served as an Associate Professor for the Army-Baylor Doctor of Physical Therapy program and the Army-Baylor Doctoral Fellowship in Orthopaedic Manual Physical Therapy program.

“Dr. Young’s rich history with Baylor University physical therapy education has prepared him for this leadership role,” said Jason R. Carter, PhD, Dean of Robbins College of Health and Human Sciences. “As interim chair, Dr. Young demonstrated a strong vision for the department, promoted a collaborative culture, and served as a valuable member of the Robbins College leadership team. I am excited for him to move into the position officially and to see his ongoing contributions to the Department of Physical Therapy.” 

Young earned his Bachelor of Arts degree from Wabash College, his Master of Science in Physical Therapy from the University of Osteopathic Medicine and Health Sciences (now Des Moines University), and his Doctor of Science from Baylor University through the Army-Baylor Orthopaedic Manual Physical Therapy program. Young is an ABPTS board-certified Orthopedic Clinical Specialist and a Fellow in the American Academy of Orthopedic and Manual Physical Therapists. He is a 2022 graduate of the American Physical Therapy Association’s Fellowship in Higher Education Leadership. He also served over 21 years in the U.S. Air Force.

With research interests in cervical and thoracic disorders, diagnostic imaging, and medical screening, Young is a frequent publisher and presenter and is a recipient of the Rose Excellence in Research Award from the Orthopaedic Section of the American Physical Therapy Association. He is passionate about the accessibility provided by hybrid physical therapy education programs like Baylor’s and the opportunity to make physical therapy services more available to those in rural and other areas that lack health care access. As Chair, he looks forward to further pursuing the department’s vision “To be a nationally recognized leader in innovative, inclusive, and transformative physical therapy education and practice.”

“I am honored to be named as the next Chair for Baylor’s Department of Physical Therapy,” Young said. “This department has built great momentum and realized several significant achievements as an early adopter of hybrid physical therapist education. I look forward to working with this team of amazing faculty and staff as we continue the momentum and deliver top-quality education to our phenomenal students.”